#### ACADAMA INDUCINE LIGHTS INDUCED A DAMA INTERCENT IN CARE A Fandame A fand

**Methods & Software** 

# **Charles Broyden Prize**

The prize was established by the *Optimization Methods and Software* Editorial Board and Taylor & Francis in 2009. It is awarded annually to the best paper published in the journal from the previous year with a cash prize of £500 and promotion of the winning article, including it being made freely available for the following year.

Charles George Broyden received international recognition for his seminal 1965 paper, in which he proposed two methods for solving systems of equations. They later became known as Broyden's methods. Another of his most important achievements was the derivation of the Broyden-Fletcher-Goldfarb-Shanno (BFGS) updating formula, one of the key tools used in optimization. Moreover, he was among those who derived the symmetric rank-one updating formula, and his name is also attributed to the Broyden family of guasi-Newton methods.

Taylor & Trancis

Charles G. Broyden died in May 2011 at the age of 78.

Optimization Methods and Software publishes refereed papers on the latest developments in the theory and realization of optimization methods, with particular emphasis on the interface between software development and algorithm design.

Find out more about <u>Optimization</u> <u>Methods and Software</u> at <u>www.tandfonline.com/goms</u>

Submit a paper to *Optimization Methods and Software* via <u>ScholarOne</u> <u>Manuscripts</u><sup>TM</sup>

http://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/goms



### The Prize Committee:

<u>Frederic Bonnans</u>, INRIA-Saclay Ile-de-France and Ecole Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France

<u>Michael C. Ferris</u> (committee chair) University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA

<u>Masao Fukushima</u>, Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan

<u>Nickolaos Sahinidis</u>, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, USA

Yinyu Ye, Stanford University, USA

## Winner Announced

2012 Winner

Congratulations go to *David A. Fournier, Hans J. Skaug, Johnoel Ancheta, James Ianelli, Arni Magnusson, Mark N. Maunder, Anders Nielsen & John Sibert 'AD* <u>Model Builder: using automatic</u> <u>differentiation for statistical</u> <u>inference of highly parameterized</u> <u>complex nonlinear models'</u> published in Volume 27, No. 2, pp. 233-249. This article will be freely available until the end of 2013.

Previous Winners: 2011 Winner Congratulations go to *Didier Henrion* and *Jerome Malick* for their paper '<u>Projection Methods</u> for conic feasibility problems, applications to polynomial sum-ofsquares decompositions' published in Volume 26, No. 1, pp. 23-46.

#### 2010 Winner

Congratulations go to *Felipe Alvarez, Julio López and C. Héctor Ramírez* for their paper 'Interior proximal algorithm with variable metric for second-order cone programming: applications to structural optimization and support vector machines' published in Volume 25, No. 6, pp. 859-881.